Otis Clay- Trying To Live My Life Without You / I Can’t Take It

Posted: March 29, 2010 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

If you are looking for a potent fix of gritty Memphis Deep Soul, check out Otis Clay. Beginning his musical career in the gospel genre, Otis Clay ventured into the secular arena in the late 1960′s, signing to Hi Records. He released a handful of singles and two full length albums on the label between 1972 and 1978.

Although receiving minimal recognition stateside, Otis Clay remains a soul hero in Japan and Europe. Go figure.

Trying To Live My Life Without You (1972)

I Can’t Take It (1977)

Comments
  1. W says:

    Trying to Live My Life is such a great album; Looking forward to checking out I Can’t Take It sometime. W.

  2. Visuals says:

    Thanks for sharing both of these albums. Before running across your blog, The only Otis Clay I had in my collection is the “Best Of The Hi Records Years” compilation CD. I fell in love with the track “I Can’t Take It”, Which also prompted to seek out more of his work. Great talent Mr.Clay was*

Leave a Reply

